Decoders for 10-408, 10-847, 10-286, 10-491?

john_ibw

I am considering going DCC and I am new to DCC. Have zeroed in on NCE PowerCab for throttle and command station.

Now, I need to consider decoders for the following sets. I need help with identifying decoders for drive cars and lights.

10-408 253 Series Narita Express

10-847 E259 Series Narita Express

10-286 885 Series White Sonic

10-491 Series 800 Tsubame

Thanks in advance.

Martijn Meerts

If the trains are DCC friendly, you can use Kato's own decoders. Of those listed, I think only the E259 might be DCC friendly though...

For the rest, any motor decoder will work for the motor car(s), and any function decoder for the cab cars. If you want to be able to turn on and off interior light, you'll also need a function decoder for all additional cars.

Since you're going for the NCE system, you might also want to go for NCE decoders, although any DCC compliant decoder will work with the NCE system. Which decoder(s) you want really depends on what features you want. There are cheap decoders that don't do much other than control the motor, and there are more expensive decoders that can do various extra's such as light effects. Some also have the option to hook up an external sound circuit or additional power storage module (so that the train runs even on difficult turnouts or dirty track.)

Personally, I'm really happy with the Lenz Silver+ mini. Not the cheapest, but a very functional decoder, and small enough to fit in almost any train

Hi John,