TOMIX CLEANING MASHINE and others.

vadimav

Martijn Meerts

I have 3 tomix cleaners, and they definitely work. I have no experience with the other 2, mainly because they're just too expensive and not very versatile.

Haven't had any problems with the Tomix cleaning car, but when using the grinding or polishing discs, there might be some problems in sharp curves.

Martijn Meerts

There's many more cleaners actually.. Fleischmann has a little locomotive with tiny rotating grinding pads, and most brands have a cleaning car which is just a standard freight car with some felt blocks dragging over the tracks.

Atlas also releases cleaning cars in both H0 and N, but those are direct copies of the Tomix one.

i have a couple of the tomix cleaners and love them. the vacuum is worth it all by itself when you see the stuff is sucks off the track!

I also have a centerline roller cleaner that i have not used yet, but i bought it on recommendation of one of the other jrm members who uses them to clean is huge unitrak basement japanese layout. its a pretty dirty basement (no drop ceiling so lots of rafter smutz raining down all the time). its basically just one big round brass roller that you rubberband a strip of handiwipe onto and soak it in your favorite cleaning solution. the roller fits in the center of a heavy brass car that rolls the handiwipe covered brass roller along the track. this does a wonderful job of picking up heavy crap on the track. lots of folks on the n scale list swear by them to pick up heavy dirt and muck on the tracks. just run the train around and around. you can also pop on a clean roller w/o cleaning fluid to mop up if you want to (some dont like to leave fluid on the track.)

http://www.centerline-products.com/Catalog/N2.html#N2_Instructions

these go for like $70 retail, but i grabbed one with a bout a week or lurking on ebay for $35