Tomix - TCS M1 Decoder Installation

G’day everyone,

This is my first attempt at a “how to” , I hope it is helpful to collectors of Tomix Japanese trains who want to run them with DCC. I am using the TCS M1 decoder. I have not tried the Digitrax DZ125 yet but I think it would fit.

For now I am just concentrating on getting the motor cars in my fleet done, then I will go back and do the end cars. If this is helpful I will post other decoder installations. Let me know what you think.

The mill I use consists of a cross slide vice mounted on a floor standing pedestal drill and the milling bit is a 3mm 4 flute end mill. This first install is into the Tomix chassis part number 2824, this is located on the bottom of the chassis. The following trains are the ones I know of so far that use this Chassis.

92929 100 series shinkansen Last Run memorial set

92639 300 series shinkansen

92277 700 series shinkansen Hikari Rail Star

92274 E1 series shinkansen

92228 923 Dr Yellow

Let’s get started then.

Here is what we have once the shell is off.

post-150-13569922364485_thumb.jpg

Sorry about the individual posts, I could not work out how to space images throughout the body of the text.

Remove the rubber insulating sheet.

post-150-13569922389146_thumb.jpg

My milling setup. The yellow circle on the vice is a thumbscrew for adjusting the friction, this one is for left/right. There is another one on the side for fwd/backward. Do these up a bit to stop the vice slides moving from vibration when the drill is running.

post-150-13569922389676_thumb.jpg

Make sure the chassis is sitting flat in the vice. Here the ridge on the side of the chassis is sitting on top of the jaws on both sides.

post-150-13569922390539_thumb.jpg

Here I am setting the depth for the first pass. It is a bit hard to see from this angle, but the bit is approx 1.5mm below the top of the chassis.

post-150-13569922390882_thumb.jpg