My First Japanese Layout

the_weird_one

the_weird_one

Good evening,

I've been lurking on this board reading everything I can for a while now but I thought I'd better make a post and say hi. But I'm not good with introduction threads so figured I'd kill two birds with one stone.

I've done a small British N Gauge layout before but given my love of Japan, and Japanese culture, as well as anime and manga I wanted to turn my hands to a layout based on Japanese trains which is how I stumbled upon these boards via Google.

Unfortunately I have recently been made redundant so I'm going to be stuck in the planning stage for a while but I've attached what I've come up with as a reasonable sized layout for starting when I find work again. But I'd like to get some opinions on it.

The blue track is for a shinkansen line, I would like to know if the station is long enough to get an 8 car shinkansen in or not, my idea is to have a Dr. Yellow (full 7 cars) and a N700-8000 (full 8 cars) but I've not been able to work out how longer platform I'd need to have in order to be able to do that.

The orange track is likely to be a commuter line, though I may also run some freight on it at some stage. I've connected the Shinkansen line to the commuter line as I intend to have a cleaning train as well and wanted to be able to leave it in a siding while not in use but able to clean the commuter and shinkansen lines when needed.

The green track is either going to be for a tram or railbus.

As for landscaping I've not made my mind up what I'd like to do yet but would like to get a tunnel in there somewhere so I can get the lights of the trains illuminating the exits.

Anyway Hi again and I'll try to post more though I tend to be rather quite I'm afraid but overly talkative when settled in somewhere.

post-906-13569931022027_thumb.jpg

• Like 1

Weird one,

welcome! looks like youve gotten the japanese modeling bug.

the shinkansen station looks a tad short for an 8 car train.