UK Rail Hotspots, an occasional series, part 1- Chesterfield

kevsmiththai

Chesterfield.

U.K rail hot spot

For many years now one of the best places to watch trains in England has been a stretch of line running from Tapton Junction just to the north of Chesterfield station in Derbyshire down to Clay Cross Junction. At the southern end the Erewash valley line joins the Midland main line from London to Sheffield for a distance of about 8 miles before the Midland ‘Old Road’ splits off taking most of the freight traffic to the north whilst the passenger trains head north west to Sheffield.

I have been photographing and videoing this stretch of line since 1978 and it can be one of the busiest spots at times. The combination of North-South expresses and cross country Liverpool-Norwich workings make passenger traffic busy and the Coal, Steel and Mineral traffic has always provided plenty of freight action.

chesterfieldrailmap.jpg

It may seem odd to start a feature like this with a picture of the top of a wall but this spot, at the south end of Platform one at Chesterfield station, was thronged with train spotters back in the sixties and seventies. Over the years steam gave way to diesel, the class 45 Peaks gave way to the HSTs and they in turn were bumped off the top links by the class 220s,221s DMUs etc. These also eliminated one of the last strongholds of class 47/8 loco hauled passenger workings in the U.K. On the freight side first generation diesels like class 20s and 37s were superceded by classes 56,58 and class 60s on mineral traffic and these were all but extinct with the mass arrival of EMD class 66s

A lone railfan sits on the wall in the summer of 1978 as a Peak class 1-co-co-1 heads north with a London St Pancras-Sheffield working

img703.jpg