JNS Facebook page

Hi All

have mentioned the possibility of a JNS face book page to Don (Capt Oblivious) and had very positive feedback, so I wanted to gauge opinions of all the folks on here.

I have offered to set the page up and keep an eye on it, I would appreciate assistance from a couple of you to help with the admin (preferably in different time zones from me).

The idea is to promote our hobby, promote this forum (which may lead to some advertising income to help with the running costs) and encourage new members to share their knowledge and expertise of not only Japanese Railways but also modelling techniques and the technology involved these days.

Whilst I am new to the Japanese scene I am not new to modelling or computing and I know from checking on face book there is no (English language ) Japanese Railway fan page, I am very much aware of the positive influence a social network site can have on a group such as us.  I am very much aware also of the occasional negative occurrences on such a site but with your kind assistance I believe it can be well moderated.

Many companies send out computer worms and monitor social networking sites to monitor trends and I think we would be doing our hobby a disservice by ignoring the opportunity.

So what information would you like to see - links to the forum, various JR sites and modelling sites - anything else? Can we make it a focal point for the hobby and those fluent in Japanese (and any other language) would be most welcome to ensure we meet the widest possible audience.

Let me know - is it worth a go or a waste of time?

and a question for the mods, could we use the forum header on the face book page if it were to go ahead and are you ready for the influx of new membership applications  :cheesy

Awesome! I'd like to admin if possible! :grin

Is it possible to have new topics on the FB page when a new one opens ? Maybe through an RSS-feed or something, I dunno.