My little Honshu layout

leegodwine

Hi all

I am posting this up for some suggestions and advice.  I am new to building model trains.  I had some experience when I was younger building HO scale train with my dad, but this will be my first solo experience and first experience with an N gauge train.  The idea is to build a small "Honshu", its not exactly "Honshu", but just Tokyo and Kyoto and a small area linking the 2 by Shinkansen.  Anyways, the idea is to build along one wall of my dining room.  The length will be approximately 13 feet in length. 

The far left will be an area of 4x4, this will be my Tokyo area.  It will have one set of train to start, the Yamanote line, I will have tracks in place to eventually put a Chuo line train in as well.  My wife also suggested the addition of a smaill area to represent the sakuragicho area in Yokohama (Including the view in Miato Mirai, if i do add this in, the Chuo line will cut across this as well.  But this is probably going to be "phase II"  The far right will consist of Kyoto, I don't have any solid plans for train in that area yet, but it will likely be a light rail kit (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=360221043917&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT#ht_3622wt_1167) with the Kato Unitram kit (http://www.1999.co.jp/eng/10100320).  This area will be 3x4, and will consist of a "offsite" train yard and station

Conencting the 2 wil be a 6x1 "bridge" that will run a shinkansen train between "Tokyo Station" and "Kyoto Station", with some minor scenary along the way and a plaster moulded mountain in between and some rice fields.  The only train I currently have in possession  is the Yamanote and a Dr Yellow, I MAY get a "proper" Nozomi train later on, but for now, Dr Yellow will be the shinkansen that runs between the 2 station

Thoughts????

Let me see if I got this right, the landlord (wife) is giving you 13' in length to work with (if that is true where did you find this  :angel13:)