Help requested with Arduino automation

TheMonark

Hi All:

I am a newbie who is starting to build N-scale model using Tomix. I know I am shooting for the stars at the first attempt. However, I want to it be more of a learning experience than a successful experience. I have created a basic design of two track layout where I want to run two trains in opposite direction. Both these tracks converge to a double track station set. I plan to use arduino for the automation. I have decent programming experience in general but arduino per say. 

I want to request all of you guys to provide your critique and suggestions on the layout.

Planning Notes:

> Both the trains running will have two power cars at each end

> All 4 turnouts are not powered

Layout Logic - 

> Train A will always have priority for turnout use

> If Train A reaches Sensor 1, Arduino will check the status of Sensor 2 and 4. If both of these sensors are off, then it will turn on Switch 1 and 2 to allow Train A to move to the station. As soon as Train reaches Sensor 3, it will cut off the power to Feeder 4 thereby stopping the train. Meanwhile, if the Train B reaches Sensor 4, it will be stopped there

> Once the Train A is parked at station, Train will be get the green light on Switch 3 and 4 and will stop near Sensor 2

Apologies for any newbie mistakes. 

MySecondFinal.jpg

Maybe this was not seen by many.  It should be in the layout sub-forum or maybe the automation sub-forum

Edited by chadbag

I've moved it to the automation subforum as it seems most appropriate.

@TheMonark, there a couple of people around who might have some experience with what you're doing but it's a bit of a niche.

A more descriptive title might help too, e.g. "Help requested with Arduino automation" or something. A post in the "Welcome" section with a brief introduction will also be a good way of attracting attention.

• Like 1
3 hours ago, TheMonark said: