Hello from Long Beach, CA

adrianKeith

adrianKeith

Hi all,

Joined this forum as suggested by someone on Reddit as I recently found a passion for JR trains! I visited Japan 2 years ago and more recently just came back a few days ago from a 12 day trip around Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka and Hakone and have just been fascinated with the trains and rail system there ever since. So much so that I was on a mission to find as many train related souvenirs and model trains as I could! I wanted to start off easy as I have zero experience with all of this so I ended up picking up a number of Bandai's B-Train Shorty models.

I even picked up one from a NewDays Kiosk (convenience store in Tamachi station) just because it looked fun! I'm hoping to get into the more detailed KATO trains but figured I'd get some experience playing with these less expensive ones first. 

Here's the one I picked up from the Kiosk store. 

MbqkLlD.jpg

6c3lAo2.jpg

I was a bit bummed to find out this wasn't the front car (sorry, lack of knowledge of terminology showing) but nevertheless thought it was neat once it was finally assembled. The small details are great and its a lot of fun just putting it together.

Hope to start learning a lot more about JR trains from everyone!

Welcome Adrian!  Glad to see another Californian here!  I'm just over the hill in Torrance, plus there are quite a few more in the Bay area too.  B-trains are a great place to start, you can have a long train without taking up too much room!

• Like 1
adrianKeith

Welcome Adrian!  Glad to see another Californian here!  I'm just over the hill in Torrance, plus there are quite a few more in the Bay area too.  B-trains are a great place to start, you can have a long train without taking up too much room!

Hah, awesome! I actually work in Redondo Beach and spend all my time and money in Torrance/Gardena for all the delicious ramen and Japanese food :)