Trying Z Gauge - Again

I'm trying Z gauge, again.  I done quite a lot of Z about 10 years ago and will give it another go because of the possibility of smaller living quarters later.  I just now ordered a couple of Sankei houses to try my hand at paper modelling.  Hope that these hands don't shake too much.

One thing I will be needing is a fairly large Japan style Station building.  If anyone knows of one please let me know.  I will be using Rokuhan track and possibly their trains.  I have no experience with them so would like advice if available. 

We'll see how things progress.

Gerry

• Like 1

For japanese models, N scale is better. Easier to get, easier to build and easier to maintain. On the other hand, the Rokuhan track system is very nice. Actually it feels like a mixture of Kato and Tomix track. I can't comment on the rolling stock as i only have west german ep. 3 trains in Z gauge, running on Maerklin and Rokuhan tracks (just two tiny half finished layouts).

Sankei kits however are hard. Not just a bit hard, but way harder than a regular european plastic kit and incomparable to any Tomytec kits. I would say that getting the same level in japanese Z that you can get with entry level japanese N scale is much harder and require good modelling skills and more patience.

For a Z scale large station building, i seem to rember that a company released the Tokyo station building in Z scale. Not too detailed but nice and easier to build. For a really large building that looks like a late JNR era modern building, i would use an european kit, like the Maerklin 8960 Goppingen station and bash two building kits into a general japanese modern look. (in case of the 8960 by using the street fronts on both sides, with some parts of the glass front at track side and replacing/painting the platform canopies that go with it)