European vs Japanese models.

Sascha

I guess this was brought up already, but in another forum a Japanese guy said that he didn't like Japanese N Gauge trains, because they are far inferior to European models.

I'm not very experienced in that, so I would like to hear y'alls thoughts on it please.

From my own experience and those of friends, it is usually the other way around. I think that person just wants to be interesting himself and/or isn't interested in Japanese trains anyway.

• Like 2
Martijn Meerts

Depends... Some European trains are really high quality and have things like metal frame and/or shell and high power motors and advanced head/tail light configurations. Of course, those trains also cost 4-5 times as much as a Japanese train. There are however also a lot of European models that really aren't very good. For example, I have a steamer which came with a factory installed decoder, cost as much as about 3 Kato steamers, and the thing has never run well. It's been back to the factory for checkup/repairs twice, but it still regularly locks up and stalls on just about every turnout, including Peco's electrofrog turnouts ...

Of course, my best example is still my Marklin H0 ICE2 set, which runs so terribly bad and makes so much noise, it's only really useable as a static display model :)

• Like 2

Depends... Some European trains are really high quality and have things like metal frame and/or shell and high power motors and advanced head/tail light configurations. Of course, those trains also cost 4-5 times as much as a Japanese train. There are however also a lot of European models that really aren't very good. For example, I have a steamer which came with a factory installed decoder, cost as much as about 3 Kato steamers, and the thing has never run well. It's been back to the factory for checkup/repairs twice, but it still regularly locks up and stalls on just about every turnout, including Peco's electrofrog turnouts ...